Business Intelligence Management

BI Management ensures the management and steering of business intelligence and of the organizational units involved as well as the integration into an existing expert, technical and organizational BI environment. In order to ensure optimum implementation, we recommend developing a BI strategy as well as putting in place corresponding BI governance with a BI Competence Center.

Blogs You Should Be Reading

BI Management is an important success factor for BI implementation projects. Often enough, the project scope is implemented but the BI overview and the corresponding interdependencies are neglected. This can be avoided thanks to sound BI management.

Business Intelligence Management

CubeServ consulting services for BI management

BI governance

BI governance defines the rules according to which business intelligence is steered, organized, implemented, and developed further. BI-relevant activities need to be coordinated. The organizational structure, processes, and applications design must be defined; the resources and skills required must be identified and the corresponding systems made accessible. BI governance must be aligned towards strategy.

Quelle Bild: Kemper (2006)

Further important components of a successful BI solution are interaction between business and IT, requirements management, information life cycle management, and data stewardship (data quality assurance) as well as information stewardship (information quality assurance). A central component of BI governance is the definition of uniform superordinate BI standards from an expert and technical perspective (BI guidelines). BI definitions can then be derived from these guidelines for use within the company.

BI awareness

BI awareness describes the company-wide understanding of BI. Uniform and consistent BI understanding forms the basis for successful BI projects. In a first phase, the prevailing BI understanding within a company as well as the BI stakeholders in management, expert fields, and IT are determined. In a second step, targets and gaps are analyzed and on the basis of this, concrete measures are defined, e.g. written definitions and communication methods.

BI strategy

A BI strategy ensures the well-targeted development of business intelligence in line with corporate goals. A BI strategy must be developed, adapted, and updated continuously. CubeServ recommends an ambition-driven strategy, i.e. the identification of the ambitions of the BI sponsors and based on this, the definition of the strategy-relevant initial situation according to which concrete goals can be derived. A roadmap based on the BI strategy should define strategic and operational goals and deadlines as well as deadlines for the implementation of an application landscape, a system architecture, and a software portfolio. The individual plans and projects, including measures, are to be laid down in detail in a master plan.

BI organization (BICC – BI Competence Center)

The BI Competence Center is an organizational unit that, ideally, will be a service-providing division that is part of a certain management field. Depending on the organizational structure of a company, different variants are possible, e.g. a virtual BICC. BICCs serve as single points of contact for all BI-relevant topics, inquiries, and projects. The BI responsibilities and interfaces as well as the BI stakeholders are laid down in the BICC concept and organizational chart that defines company-specific roles and functions as well as communication and escalation measures. A BICC thus provides a solid organizational framework for the successful and comprehensible management of your BI project.

BI requirements engineering

BI requirements engineering is one of the most important and difficult tasks of BI projects. We can support you with regard to the identification of BI-specific requirements and their distinction from other projects. Written documentation in form of a catalogue of measures, comprising all technical and expert requirements, is part of this task. According to our experience of many years, further important elements are feedback loops for quality assurance as well as effective BI management communication.

BI coaching

BI coaching helps to ensure a high implementation quality of BI projects and initiatives. As a rule, BI coaching is carried out during specific project phases or in the long term, to support a specific initiative. BI coaching is particularly important during the initial phase of BI strategy and BI governance design and development. BI coaching can, however, also prove to be the backbone for project success during the challenging phases to follow.

BI management practice

In the field of BI management, we would take pleasure in supporting you with regard to the development of individual aspects according to best practices as well as scientific approaches. We can also be of assistance in the case of a short term lack of resources or with regard to ad interim management.

Business Intelligence Management

BI Management stellt die Führung und Steuerung von Business Intelligence und den daran beteiligten Organisationseinheiten sowie die Integration in das bestehende fachliche, technische und organisatorische Umfeld von BI sicher. Zur optimalen Umsetzung empfehlen wir die Entwicklung einer BI Strategie sowie einer entsprechenden BI Governance mit einem BI Competence Center.

BI Management ist ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor für BI Implementierungsprojekte, in denen der jeweilige Projektscope umgesetzt wird aber die BI Gesamtsicht mit ihren Abhängigkeiten oft nicht im Fokus steht. Diese Aufgabe wird vom BI Management übernommen.

Business Intelligence Management

CubeServ Consulting Services für BI Management

BI Governance

Die BI Governance definiert die Spielregeln, wie Business Intelligence gesteuert, organisiert, ausgeführt und weiterentwickelt wird. Es gilt die BI-relevanten Tätigkeiten abzustimmen. Als Basis müssen Organisationsstruktur, Prozesse und die Applikationsgestaltung definiert sein sowie die notwendigen Ressourcen und Skills bekannt und die entsprechenden Systeme verfügbar sein.

Quelle Bild: Kemper (2006)

Ausgerichtet wird die BI Governance auf die BI Strategie. Wichtige Bestandteile einer erfolgreichen BI Lösung sind die Interaktion von Business und IT, das Anforderungsmanagement, das Informations Life Cycle Management sowie die Data Stewardship (Datenqualitätssicherung) und die Information Stewardship (Informationsqualitätssicherung). Zentraler Bestandteil der BI Governance ist das Festlegen einheitlicher übergeordneter BI Standards aus fachlicher und technischer Perspektive (BI Richtlinien). Daraus folgt die Ableitung detaillierter BI Definitionen und die Einordnung und Bedeutung im Unternehmen.

BI Awareness

BI Awareness bezeichnet das unternehmensweite Verständnis von BI. Ein einheitliches und konsistentes BI Verständnis bildet die Grundlage für erfolgreiche BI Projekte. Im ersten Schritt wird eine Bestandsaufnahme des bestehenden BI Verständnisses im Unternehmen und der BI Stakeholder Management, Fachbereiche und IT durchgeführt. Im zweiten Schritt erfolgt eine Soll- und GAP Analyse, aus der konkrete Massnahmen resultieren, wie z.B. schriftliche Definitionen und klare Kommunikation.

BI Strategie

Durch die BI Strategie wird eine zielgerichtete Entwicklung von Business Intelligence entlang den Unternehmenszielen sichergestellt. Eine BI Strategie kann nicht einmalig generiert werden, sondern muss periodisch entwickelt und aktualisiert werden.

CubeServ empfiehlt den Ambition Driven Strategy - Ansatz. Dabei werden zuerst die Ambitionen der BI Sponsoren abgeklärt und anschliessend fokussiert auf diese Ambitionen die strategierelevante Ausgangslage erhoben und konkrete Ziele abgeleitet. Als Ergebnis der BI Strategie steht eine Roadmap der Vorhaben auf strategischer und organisatorischer Ebene sowie auf der Systemebene mit Applikationslandschaft, Architektur und Softwareportfolio zur Verfügung. Im Masterplan werden die einzelnen Vorhaben und Projekte mit Massnahmen detaillierter ausgearbeitet.

BI Organisation

(BICC – BI Competence Center) - Aufbauorganisation
(BICC – BI Competence Center) - Aufbauorganisation
Das BI Competence Center ist eine organisatorische Einheit, die in Abhängigkeit von der Unternehmensstruktur in verschiedenen Varianten umgesetzt werden kann. Das BI CC dient als Single-Point-Of-Contact für alle BI relevanten Themen, Anfragen und Projekte. Die Verantwortlichkeiten und Schnittstellen innerhalb von BI und deren Stakeholdern wird mit dem BICC festgelegt. Im Rahmen eines BI CC Konzeptes werden Rollen und Funktionen unternehmensspezifisch erarbeitet, Kommunikations- und Eskalationslinien festgelegt und alles im Organigramm des BI CC‘s zugeordnet. Ein BI CC bietet Ihnen einen soliden organisatorischen Rahmen, mit dem Sie Ihre BI Projekte erfolgreicher und transparenter managen können.

BI Requirements Engineering

Das BI Requirements Engineering gehört zu einer der wichtigsten und schwierigsten Aufgaben im Rahmen von BI Projekten. Wir unterstützen Sie bei dem sauberen Erfassen der BI spezifischen Anforderungen und deren Abgrenzung zu andern Projekten. Auch die schriftliche Dokumentation innerhalb eines Pflichtenheftes mit technischen und fachlichen Anforderungen gehört dazu. Gemäss unseren langjährigen Erfahrungen sind weitere wichtige Bestandteile Feedback-Loops zur Qualitätssicherung und hochwertige Kommunikation innerhalb des BI Requirements Managements.

BI Coaching

BI Coaching dient zur Qualitätssicherung Ihrer BI Projekte und Initiativen. Es erfolgt in der Regel punktuell in bestimmten Projektphasen oder längerfristig die Initiative begleitend. Besonders in der Anfangsphase für die BI Strategie – und Governanceentwicklung ist es sehr wichtig. Aber auch zu späteren Zeitpunkten z.B. in schwierigen Phasen kann BI Coaching ein wichtiges Rückgrat für den Projekterfolg sein.

BI Management Practice

Im Bereich des BI Management unterstützen wir sie gerne bei der Entwicklung einzelner Aspekte gemäss unseren „Best Practice“ und wissenschaftlichen Ansätzen sowie bei kurzfristig fehlenden Ressourcen auch als ad interims Management.