SAP BusinessObjects Cloud

The end-to-end BI platform

The crucial innovative aspects are that this solution is a totally new development, operates directly and exclusively on the basis of the SAP HANA platform and provides its own BI platform with the very first release. SAP thus provides an end-to-end BI offering on a single technological platform for the first time. Modelling as well as analyses, planning, collaboration, etc. all take place on this platform and, in the SAP BusinessObjects Cloud medium, via the web browser. When using the solution, customers no longer need different technologies and different platforms. Even use of the analysis and planning applications modelled on Excel require no Microsoft tools, let alone Excel. SAP “simply” programmed whatever was necessary for the applications itself.

First preliminary conclusion therefore: SAP BusinessObjects Cloud is an “end-to-end” solution built natively on the very latest SAP platform SAP HANA, making optimum use of its data storage. It is fully integrated and eliminates the “tool zoo” that frequently features in the BI world. All components are made available in the same technology and can be accessed from the browser.

CubeServ: Generating Reports 100 Times Faster with the SAP®BusinessObjects™ Cloud Solution

Architecture

The new platform can provide all the components for an advanced analytics solution. SAP BusinessObjects Cloud is built natively on SAP HANA and uses the SAP HANA Cloud Platform (HCP) with its data storage, the Cloud connectors as well as the associated operating functions. And the solution benefits from the entire “HANA-as-a-Platform”: the “geospatial” functions, for example, that are incorporated in HANA are available in SAP BusinessObjects Cloud as well.

SAP BusinessObjects Cloud itself offers sophisticated frontend features from the start, including “Dashboards” and “Agile Visualization”, covering everything from self-service analyses to dashboarding to storytelling. The integrated component “Planning & Allocation” further overcomes the unspeakable separation between planning and reporting. The “Data Wrangling” component, for its part, facilitates genuine data exploration by allowing users who are not ‘hardcore’ IT experts to combine corporate data with data from other sources.

The data for this solution can come from the HCP or from on-premise as well as other data sources. SAP is in the very early stages of developing applications to run on the platform, which will no doubt increase in number over time, and have made an impressive start with the Digital Boardroom.

Functionality (a small selection)

As this is the first article following the launch of SAP BusinessObjects Cloud, the description of the functionality must be limited to selected features for space reasons. To give you an initial general idea, we shall focus on a few features, some more backend heavy and some more frontend heavy. Let us take a look at data import and linking in the “Modeling”. How do we get SAP HANA files and local files (e.g. MS Excel files) into the system?

Retrieval of SAP HANA data

Let’s start with SAP HANA data. It is so easy, you hardly see anything happening: simply select the HANA source and you are done! Then you can start on the analyses immediately. That’s integration for you … (URL screen cam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ND15VWu3bpI&feature=youtu.be)

Retrieval of local data

But creating new models, based on local data for instance, and uploading the data is easy as well: select Excel file, map contents, upload, done! And then you can start on your analyses … (URL screen cam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRRuRSp5Z0E).

Blending

And then, of course, the inevitable happens: no sooner have you started your analysis than you discover that you need further data. This where ‘Blending’ comes in. You select the relevant data source from within the analysis, perform the mapping, and the data will be linked immediately and available in the analysis … (URL screen cam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NRgVN6nxjY)

Visualisations

To conclude today’s article, here is a small selection of visualisations. Once again, SAP BusinessObjects Cloud is very powerful even in the initial release, providing ad hoc visualisation in the course of the analysis or ‘stories’ prepared for the management. In addition to the typical chart types, impressive features include geo-visualisations, which are available from the start, and the beginnings of the implementation of the Hichert/SUCCESS (IBCS) notation in charts and tables … (URL screen cam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn3fvYKgxMc&feature=youtu.be)

Cloud or not Cloud, that is the question here.

It seems that the new SAP offering is available exclusively as “Software as a Service”, at least according to current planning. We shall therefore leave aside the currently irrelevant question as to whether this may also be offered as an on-premise solution sometime in the future. Of course this prompts the following question: Does my company actually want to go “into the cloud”?

But the decision should be based on facts and not on an emotional response. And in this context, the reader would be well advised to consider the line of thinking put forward by Dr. Stefan Sigg: Are you not already using a number of cloud services anyway? And are the e-mail and other functions that you use on your tablets, smartphones and laptops for corporate data as well not actually much less secure than a cloud-based analytics application? And how much of your data is sent back and forth between different company sites unsecured or using encryption that would be no deterrent to the NSA or other unsavoury agencies?

Consequently, the question “Cloud or not Cloud” is no longer pertinent – at least under this aspect. Instead, the answer to the question should be determined on the basis of aspects to do with TCO, service level, usability, functionality and similar!

Overall Conclusion

Let’s start with an image. For years, the competition between SAP and its often ridiculously small competitors for the lead in the area of BI tools resembled the famous race between the hare and the hedgehog in the Grimm’s’ fairy tale (at least in the imaginary world of Gartner and Associates).  No sooner had SAP gained some ground after years of work, Gartner moved the goalposts and the US augurs were able to maintain that the market leader had not done its homework. This happened with OLAP, dashboarding, self-service, etc.

But with SAP BusinessObjects Cloud, SAP has now landed an incredible coup. All the providers that the augurs had pushed in such aggressive fashion have ended up where they always really belonged, thanks to SAP BusinessObjects Cloud architecture, end-to-end approach, comprehensive browser use and the cloud approach.

Our Offer

CubeServ offers you a two-day workshop providing an initial overview, where you can benefit from our experience with the solution even at this early stage and where we will demonstrate the solution to you.

Interested?
If so, please give us a call or send us an e-mail. We can then arrange a date for a presentation and discuss your individual requirements.

SAP BusinessObjects Cloud

Die End-to-End BI-Plattform

Diese neu entwickelte Lösung bedient sich direkt und ausschliesslich aus der SAP HANA Plattform und stellt eine eigene BI-Plattform dar. Damit verfügt SAP erstmals über ein BI End-to-End Offering auf einer einzigen technologischen Plattform. Sowohl Modellierung, als auch Analysen, Planung, Collaboration usw. laufen auf dieser Plattform und im BusinessObjects Cloud-Medium im Web Browser. Kunden benötigen bei der Nutzung der Lösung nicht mehr verschiedene Technologien und verschiedene Plattformen. Selbst für Excel-ähnliche Analyse- und Planungsanwendungen werden nicht mehr Microsoft-Werkzeuge benötigt. Das dafür benötigte Werkzeug hat SAP „mal eben“ selbst programmiert.

Ein erstes Zwischenfazit also: SAP BusinessObjects Cloud ist eine „End-to-End“-Lösung auf der modernsten SAP-Plattform SAP HANA unter optimaler Nutzung von deren Datenhaltung, voll integriert und ohne Notwendigkeit für einen „Tool-Zoo“, wie in der BI-Welt oft notwendig. Alle Komponenten werden in der gleichen Technologie bereitgestellt und sind vom Web Browser aus zugreifbar.

CubeServ: Generating Reports 100 Times Faster with the SAP®BusinessObjects™ Cloud Solution

Architektur

Die neue Plattform ist geeignet, alle Komponenten für eine Advanced Analytics-Lösung bereitzustellen. SAP BusinessObjects Cloud basiert auf SAP HANA und nutzt die SAP HANA Cloud Plattform (HCP) mit ihrer Datenspeicherung, den Cloud-Konnektoren sowie den entsprechenden Betriebsfunktionen. Dabei kommt der Lösung die gesamte „HANA-as-a-Platform“ zugute: Beispielsweise sind die der HANA immanenten „geospatial“ Funktionen in der SAP BusinessObjects Cloud verfügbar.

SAP BusinessObjects Cloud selbst hat bereits heute mit „Dashboards und Agile Visualization“ ausgewachsene Front End Features, welche die Bereiche von Self Service-Analysen über Dashboarding bis zum Storytelling abdecken. Mit der gleichzeitig enthaltenen Komponente „Planning & Allocation“ wird zudem die unsägliche Trennung von Planung und Reporting überwunden. Die „Data Wrangling“-Komponente wiederum erlaubt echtes Data Exploration durch die Kombination von Unternehmensdaten mit anderen Datenquellen durch Benutzer, welche nicht „Hardcore“ IT’ler sind.

Die Daten für diese Lösung können aus der HCP oder aus „On-Premise“-Quellen sowie anderen Datenquellen kommen. Und erst an einem – wenn auch mit dem Boardroom beeindruckenden – Anfang stehen die Anwendungen, welche mit wachsender Zahl auf diese Plattform aufsetzen.

Funktionalität (eine kleine Auswahl)

Da dies der erste Artikel nach der Premiere von SAP BusinessObjects Cloud ist, muss sich die Beschreibung der Funktionalität aus Platzgründen auf ausgewählte Features beschränken. Für einen ersten Gesamteindruck sind in der Folge einige Back End- sowie einige Front End-lastige Features genannt. Werfen wir einen Blick auf die Datenanbindung im „Modeling“: Wie bekommen wir SAP HANA- und wie lokale Dateien (z.B. MS Excel-Dateien) in das System?

Anbindung von SAP HANA-Daten

Beginnen wir mit SAP HANA-Daten, einfach die HANA-Quelle auswählen, fertig! Danach können Sie unmittelbar mit den Analysen beginnen. (siehe URL Screencam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ND15VWu3bpI&feature=youtu.be)

Anbindung von lokalen Daten

Aber auch die Erstellung von neuen Modellen, welche z.B. auf lokalen Daten basieren sowie der Upload ist einfach: Excel-Datei auswählen, Inhalte zuweisen, Upload, fertig! Und nahezu ebenso schnell kann mit den Analysen begonnen werden … (URL Screencam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRRuRSp5Z0E).

Blending

Und dann kommt natürlich das, was kommen muss: Kaum wurde mit der Erstellung der Analyse begonnen, stellt man fest, dass noch weitere Daten benötigt werden. Dafür ist das Blending vorgesehen: In der Analyse die Datenquelle auswählen, das Mapping wählen und schon sind die Daten verknüpft und in der Analyse verfügbar … (URL Screencam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NRgVN6nxjY)

Visualisierungen

Auch bei den Visualisierungen ist SAP BusinessObjects Cloud sehr leistungsfähig. Sei es die Ad hoc-Visualisierung im Zuge der Analyse oder für Führungskräfte vorbereitete „Stories“: Neben den typischen Diagrammtypen sind hier die bereits gleich verfügbaren Geo-Visualisierungen und der Beginn der Umsetzung der Hichert/SUCCESS (IBCS)-Notation in Diagrammen und Tabellen hervorzuheben. (URL Screencam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn3fvYKgxMc&feature=youtu.be)

Cloud oder nicht Cloud, das ist hier die Frage.

Nun ist das Offering der SAP zumindest gemäss der aktuellen Planung ausschliesslich ein „Software-as-a-Service“-Angebot. Stellen wir die zunächst müssige Frage, ob das nicht irgendwann auch als „On-Premise“-Lösung angeboten wird, hinten an. Dazu kommt: Will mein Unternehmen denn überhaupt „in die Cloud“?

Es sollte eine faktenbasierte und nicht emotional getriebene Entscheidung gefällt werden. Und hier sei dem Leser die Reflexion des Argumentes von Dr. Stefan Sigg empfohlen: Nutzen Sie nicht ohnehin schon viele Cloud-Services? Und sind die E-Mail- und anderen Funktionen, die Sie mit Ihren Tablets, Smartphones und Laptops auch für Unternehmensdaten nutzen tatsächlich nicht viel unsicherer als eine Cloud-basierte Analytics-Anwendung? Und wie viele Ihrer Daten gehen ungeschützt oder mit den Verschlüsselungen der NSA’s und anderen unangenehmen Zeitgenossen zwischen Ihren Unternehmensstandorten hin und her?

Somit stellt sich – zumindest unter diesem Aspekt – die Frage „Cloud oder nicht Cloud“ nicht mehr.
Die Frage wird vielmehr durch TCO-, Service-Level-, Usability-. Funktionalitäts- und ähnliche Aspekte entschieden!

Das Gesamt-Fazit

Beginnen wir das Fazit mit einem Bild. Jahrelang glich der Wettstreit zwischen SAP und den oft lächerlich kleinen Wettbewerbern um die BI-Tool-Führung (zumindest in der Scheinwelt von Gartner und Konsorten) dem berühmten Wettstreit zwischen Igel und Hasen. Kaum hatte SAP nach jahrelanger Arbeit ein Terrain erobert, verlegte Gartner das Schlachtfeld und schon konnten die US-Auguren von SAP wieder behaupten, der Marktführer hätte die Hausaufgaben nicht gemacht. So geschehen bei OLAP, Dashboarding, Self Service usw. usf.

Aber jetzt hat SAP mit SAP BusinessObjects Cloud einen unglaublichen Coup gelandet: All die von den Auguren so hochgepushten Anbieter landen durch SAP BusinessObjects Cloud-Architektur, End-to-End-Ansatz, umfassende Web Browser-Basierung und den Cloud-Ansatz dort, wo sie eigentlich schon immer hingehörten.

Unser Angebot

Wir von CubeServ bieten Ihnen für einen ersten Überblick einen zweitägigen Workshop an, in welchem Sie bereits heute von unserer Erfahrung mit der Lösung profitieren und wir Ihnen die Lösung demonstrieren.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?
Dann rufen Sie unsere Ansprechpartner an oder senden uns eine E-Mail. Gerne vereinbaren wir mit Ihnen einen Präsentationstermin und besprechen Ihre individuellen Anforderungen.